Hong Kong Network Service Company Limited Scam

by Patrick Altoft on / 10 responses

Just received this scam email from the Hong Kong Network Service Company Limited. They are very kindly telling me that somebody wants to register blogstorm as a domain in Hong Kong.

I have a hunch that giving my credit card details to them would be a bad idea.

Richard.liu (Hong Kong Network Service Company Limited) wrote:
Blog storm companies omain name & Internet keyword

2 Apr. 2009

Blog storm companies omain name & Internet keyword
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are Hong Kong Network Service Company Limited which is the domain name
register center in Asia. We received a formal application from a company who is
apply ing to register “blogstorm” as their domain name and Internet keyword
on 1 Apr. 2009.Since after our investigation we found that this word has been
in use by your company, and this may involve your company name or trade mark,
so we inform you in no time. If you consider these domain names and internet
keyword are important to you and it is necessary to protect them by registering
them first, contact us soon. Thanks for your co-operation and support.

Kind Regards,

Richard Liu
Tel:+ 852-31757931(ext.8021)
Fax: +852-31757932
Email: richard.liu@hknetwork.hk.cn
Website: www.hknsc.hk

Patrick Altoft is Director of Search at Branded3, a Leeds SEO & Digital Agency specialising in SEO, Web Design, Development & Social Media.

Get daily posts direct to your inbox

You can get our blog posts delivered for free by email every day - simply add your email address to the box above, or alternatively you can grab the RSS feed.

Comments

Read the 8 comments below, or add your own!

April 2, 2009 at 9:22am

We have been getting these for a while now. Quite a few of our clients have contacted us asking what they should do.

Reply

gemme
April 2, 2009 at 9:28am

Common spam going on. Either HK or from Mainland China. Sometimes they already register the name, most of the time not. Can’t have all the extensions anyway:

Reply

Martaay
April 2, 2009 at 10:18am

I’ve had loads of these also, they are welcome to waste their money by registering all my domain names with far easten extensions .cn .jp etc, I won’t be needing them or buying them for hugely inflated prices.

Reply

Gaj
April 2, 2009 at 12:39pm

Yeah, I’ve had loads of these too, the funny thing is these guys are not your usual spammers, they seem to be very well spoken and know there stuff.

Reply

April 2, 2009 at 2:27pm

I blogged about this last July: Erimart Scam The funny thing is, a few days after I posted that, they came by and posted 12 different versions of the scam email in the comments of the original post. Now I have lots of different versions :)

Reply

April 2, 2009 at 4:00pm

Quiet old stuff, got similar one around 2007/08.. can’t believe its still happening !! lol

Reply

Angela
July 30, 2009 at 10:34am

I’m really pleased I’ve just found your blog. I’ve been contacted by Nancy Wang from the Hong Kong Network Service Company Limited who has already tried to contact me by phone from Singapore twice now. It all seems very strange to me and thank you for posting this blog! They are very determined.

Angela

Dear IT manager ,

We are a domain name registration center in HongKong, mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection.On July 26th 2009 we received a formal application from a local company of your country named”Angel Investment Company”,and the keyword and domains the third company want to register is just as below:

Keyword: “tlsa”

Domains:

www. tlsa.dk

www. tlsa.fr

www. tlsa.asia

www. tlsa.hk

www. tlsa.com.hk

www. tlsa.jp

www. tlsa.sg

www. tlsa.com.sg

According to the domain registration laws and statutes,the original owner of the domain name and trademark has the priority to register other similar domains. So if you want we can get you preferencial right to register the domains above.

If you consider them important to your company,and would like to protect these domain names by registering them ahead,we would send you an application form. Once we received the completed application form ,we will repeal the third party’s application soon.If you have any problem,please contact me .I am looking forward to your early reply.Thanks.

The introduction of internet keyword is enclosed .

Best Regards,

Nancy Wang

Registration Department

Tel:+852-31757930 ext 8019

Fax:+852-31757932

Email:nancy.wang@hknsc.hk

Website:www.hknsc.hk

Reply

Doh
October 29, 2009 at 4:50am

Thanks to all for taking the time to post your comments.

Probably save me alot of money

From: eddie.baker [mailto:eddie.baker@hk-nsc.hk]
Sent: Thursday, 1 October 2009 1:29 PM
To: ???
Subject: Re: RE: RE: ?????? Domain name & Internet Keyword confirmation

Hi x,

thank you for your reply,
If these domains are registered by the third company, we will make SEO for their website and internet keyword.
Their website will replace your website on the searching engines. They will rank out. So you may loss a lot of potential clients.
That must be a great loss to your business.
the price of the domains is as below,
1、domain names:
http://www.????.hk(55USD/1YEAR/1NAME)
http://www.????.kr (95USD/1YEAR/1NAME)
http://www.???????.co.kr (95USD/1YEAR/1NAME)
http://www.???????.jp (120USD/1YEAR/1NAME)
http://www.???????.ae(255USD/1YEAR/1NAME)
2、Internet keyword,
??????? (150USD/1YEAR/1NAME)
if you feel it neccesary for you to protect by registering them, we would send you the application form, the costs contains registering fee, service fee,SEO optimization and promoting fee(we could help you propagandize your website, make more people knows your company and buy your products) we have the best server and service, your could rest assure about that.pls make a quick secision, looking forward to you reply, thank you.
Regards,

Eddie.

Reply

1 trackbacks

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
 

  *

  *

You can use one of the following tags:
<a href=""><blockquote><code><em><strike><strong>